The HIstory Of Garbology – Why I Am Such A Bad Businessman – Part 1 Many Entries To Ensue

Published March 23, 2010 by Larry Fisher

The main reason why I will never succeed in the Junk business is because I am not dedicated. I refuse to work any longer than 10 hours a day for seven days a week…

Oh, but that is the least of the reasons why I will never succeed.
. Here are some other reasons:

The main thing that a Junkman has to do is get new stock and then flip it as fast as possible. I take too long to flip my stock. I fall in love with stuff and that is not what you are supposed to do when you are a Junkman. Buy it, and sell it the same day. I carry the junk around until it becomes an albatross around my neck

Other Junkmen look down upon me, when they see that I am holding onto stuff. Like I bought a collection of magazines a few years back and I still have most of it.

My mentors Manny and Sonny would have had a heart attack, if they knew I still held onto magazines or even anything. If I buy a hundred items for 50 cents a piece, and someone offers me seventy five cents even if each item is worth 10 bucks each, take the seventy five cents.

Why?

I’m supposed to be looking for the big score and a hundred items even at 20 bucks each is not the big score, and try selling a hundred items of the same thing, not always easy

They believed in turnover. Buy the crap and turn it over the same day

Let me give you an example of a Manny clean-out. I went with him to an apartment in Ridgewood. He tells a lady that he needs to receive one hundred dollars to remove the contents. She gladly gives him the money.

Then he begins making the phone calls, People start arriving. He sells the furniture for 500. He sells the books and records to me for 100 bucks. A few more people came and took the rest of the stuff.
The place was empty, the lady was so happy and Manny had about a grand, and the only lifting he did was dialing a few people and sitting and waiting for them to show up

I can’t do that. I feel like I’m missing out if I don’t go through everything.

I am haunted by what they taught me and how I can’t get myself to do it. I really want to practice that more.
I am getting older and do not want to leave any crap for my family to deal with.

If I die now, my family is screwed

To Be Continued

Leave a Reply

