They Shoot Reality, Don’t They (Notes To The Documentary – Beginnings)

Published November 14, 2011 by Larry Fisher

I’ve been calling Funeral Parlors to find out what kind of deal they could give me for my mock Funeral at the end of this film… Oh, I guess that should come at the end of the film. Anyway, I’ll just say that I pissed off a bunch of Funeral Parlors and one or two of the Undertakers wanted to bring me to the back and inject formaldehyde into me on the spot.

 I came from a family of Holocaust Survivors. My Grandfather saved his wife and kids by hiding them in the woods of Lithuania during World War II. So, by the time I was born in 1960, the war was only over for 15 years, and my Grandfather was all about showing his Grandchildren how to survive in the woods. He would make us hunt little animals and eat them. He would make us climb trees and then scream up to us, “Go higher. Go up more!”

 

When I graduated College with a Writing degree and some awards, my grandfather said,”Now, will you become a plumber.” And I should have said.”Yes.”

 

Whenever, I say I come from Blue Collar roots, it’s like me  saying I have one foot in the grave. I mean it.

I came from a family of Holocaust Survivors. My Grandfather saved his wife and kids by hiding them in a hole, eseentially a cemetery plot in a barn in  Lithuania during World War II. They lived in that hole for 18 months, although now family says 20 months… When you are living in a hole, eating and shitting in the same spot, there is a difference between 18 months and 20.

So, by the time I was born in 1960, the war was only over for 15 years, and my Grandfather was all about showing his Grandchildren how to survive in the woods. He would make us hunt little animals and eat them. He would make us climb trees and then scream up to us, “Go higher. Go up more!”

 

How could I grow up to just be an intellectual? How could I just be a Doctor or lawyer? I had to grow up and show my Grandfather that I could survive the Atomic War, with Nazi Zombies and Vampires, so I became a Junkman



One comment on “They Shoot Reality, Don’t They (Notes To The Documentary – Beginnings)

  • Leave a Reply

