Death Of A Junkman: From Disneyland To Dizzyland

Published June 1, 2012 by Larry Fisher

I’m done. I’m finished. Put together that funeral pyre of all my crap and put this junkman on a barge and set me on fire.

I’m done. I’m finished. I’ve been done and finished for a long time but my tenacious, stubborn, determined personality refused to let me collapse to the mat of the boxing ring despite the loss of blood and brain hemorrhaging. In other words, buying and selling used items and collectibles is no longer for me.

Well, I’m waving my little white hanky with spotted blood and I officially surrender being Larry The Junkman… I’m letting that go.

Oh, just to get this out of the way, this is not a suicide note. I waited a few paragraphs to tell you for the sake of suspense. I figured if I mentioned this was not a suicide note in the first line, that you might not read anymore and say to yourself,”I’ll wait for the suicide note.”

So, what is this then… I’m giving up entirely on being a junkman. I will not be selling anymore at flea markets, or stores. I am going to be doing something else.

I don’t know what I’ll be doing. You see because this is actually a note to let you know that I am looking for work.

My days of looking for Moby Dick at a White Elephant sale are done.

While on vacation in L.A. and while riding “It’s a Small World” ride at Disneyland, my Van in New York got caught up in a mire of losing its insurance and registration due to a series of bumps and bruises.

I have an extended Dodge Ram 1990 and the day before we left for L.A. I put in new filters and a new gas pump. I am asking a grand for the vehicle. The van has served me well, and has never cost me over 500 a year to service. I need to get rid of it because the registration and insurance was in a friend’s name and he lost the right to register the car for a couple of months and the van is in a friends parking space. Things need to move along quickly.

This is all for the best. I have not been able to make enough money since the recession hit. I have been resistant to giving up my business because I liked what I did and because I was scared of doing something else.

I am not scared of doing something else and I look forward to working for someone else and not having the kind of headaches I’ve had being an entrepreneur for the last 25 years.

I can’t wait to see who gets the Dodge Ram and what new job he will get. He has been a magnificent beast.

I can’t wait to get a different job and see what kind of magnificent beast I will turn into.

call me about a job or buying the van

917 582-0379

larry

One comment on “Death Of A Junkman: From Disneyland To Dizzyland

  • Um, financial analyst? http://www.larrydajunkman.com/
    There’s even a tag on this blog called Greenpoint Finance; since you lived in Greenpoint for a few years and your previous speech writing post (as well as the name of the site), I thought you moved from moving people’s junk to moving junk bonds ….

  • Leave a Reply

