Un-Natural Disasters We Take For Granted

Published October 21, 2013 by Larry Fisher

A storm comes, it blows over, we access the damage, we move on. Real Estate storms move throughout this city, raise the rent, and we move on.

I have had to move my stores from The East Village, to Greenpoint, to Bushwick and then   to a Bed Stuy garage because Landlords always want to become my partner. What does that mean? “Landlords always want to become my partner” It means that always want to increase the rent, till I am unable able to pay it. Then they ask me to leave, sometimes not nicely . And Artisan doughnut shops move into the new space. They can be quite delicious, even if they are overpriced. I understand why these doughnuts have to be overpriced, it is not the cost of the dough, or the wage to the baker.

So for years now, I have had to rent a garage, where then I have to load my vehicle and travel to flea markets in The East Village, Williamsburg, Ft. Greene and Park Slope. In other words, I have to travel back to the places I have been displaced from and sell under a tent, instead of under a roof. I always get an artisan doughnut as a treat.

Even the cost of  working a Flea Markets have become… costly.  There’s the rising rent of the garage and the cost that the Flea Market charges:

I was selling at P.S. 321 in Park Slope when a new entity outbid the old entity and nearly doubled the cost of renting the space. O.K. that is part of the deal of the city. So, now it was time to find a new location for all the vendors from P.S. 321 who have been displaced to find a new location.

We moved to a desolate schoolyard with no foot traffic on 20th street between 4th and 5th Avenue right before winter starts. It is going to be great! Eventually. We will be there every weekend.

And people will come, And they will come looking for deals on comics and funky clothes and weird furniture and they will find them.  And I will make money for a while, and the landlord will see all the people, and he will see all the Vendors and he will raise the rent, and I will have to move again. And the people who came to the market will also have to move, and we will find each other again in another empty lot. Hopefully, not Potter’s Field.

A storm comes, it blows over, we access the damage, we move on. Real Estate storms move throughout this city, raise the rent, and we move on, till we can’t move anymore.

 

 

Leave a Reply

